CORNARO PROFESSORS

Named for Elena Lucrezia Cornaro Piscopia, the first woman in history to receive a university degree (from the University of Padua, Italy, in 1678), the Cornaro Award for Excellence in Teaching is made by a peer committee in recognition of outstanding commitment to scholarship and the advancement of learning.

2024 CAMELIA MAIER, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

2023 JYUTIKA MEHTA, Ph.D., Professor of Communication Sciences; Director of the TWU Stroke Center-Dallas

2022 KAREN DUNLAP, Ed.D., Professor of Teacher Education

2021 DIANNA L. HYNDS, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

2020 SANDRA K. CESARIO, Ph.D., Professor of Nursing

2019 RICHARD D. SHEARDY, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of Chemistry and Biochemistry

2018 PAMELA J. YOUNGBLOOD, Ph.D., Professor of Music; Chair of the Department of Music and Theatre; Co-Coordinator of the School of the Arts

2017 SUSAN W. SHERIFF, Ph.D., Professor of Nursing

2016 SUSAN KAE GRANT, M.F.A., Professor of Visual Arts

2015 ANNE SIMPSON, Ph.D., Professor of Reading

2013 CLAIRE SAHLIN, Ph.D., Professor of Women's Studies

2012 PAULA ANN HUGHES, Ph.D., Professor of Business and Economics

2011 PENELOPE HANSTEIN, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Dance

2010 PHYLLIS BRIDGES, Ph.D., Professor of English

2009 MICHAEL WIEBE, Ph.D., Professor of Teacher Education

2008 JIM ALEXANDER, Ph.D., Professor of History and Government

2007 WILLIAM B. CISSELL, Ph.D., Professor of Health Studies

2006 SUSAN CHANEY, Ph.D., Professor of Nursing

2005 RONALD FRENCH, Ph.D., Professor of Kinesiology

2004 JAMES JOHNSON, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry

2003 VALENTINE J. BELFIGLIO, Ph.D., Professor of History and Government

2002 GLEN JENNINGS, Ed.D., Professor of Family Sciences

2001 BILLIE J. ASKEW, Ph.D., Professor of Reading

2000 DELAINA WALKER-BATSON, Ph.D., Professor of Communication Sciences and Disorders

1999 LYNDA UPHOUSE, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

1998 MARGARET M. GRIFFIN, Ed.D., Professor of Reading and Bilingual Education

1997 BETTY B. ALFORD, Ph.D., Professor of Nutrition

1996 JUDITH McFARLANE, D.P.H., Professor of Nursing

1995 BETTYE B. MYERS, Ph.D., Professor of Kinesiology

1994 TURNER KOBLER, Ph.D., Professor of English

1993 MARTHA H. SWAIN, Ph.D., Professor of History

1992 GEORGE H. STEWART, Ph.D., Professor of Chemistry

1991 MONA S. HERSH-COCHRAN, Ph.D., Professor of Economics

1990 PAUL E. THETFORD, Ph.D., Professor of Psychology

1989 JOHN CHRISTY, Ph.D., Professor of Mathematics

1988 JANE MOTT, Ph.D., Professor of Physical Education

1986 ROSE SPICOLA, Ph.D., Professor of Reading and Bilingual Education

1985 LAVON B. FULWILER, Ph.D., Professor of English

1984 ROBERT FUERST, Ph.D., Professor of Biology

1983 CLARICE GARRETT, Ph.D., Professor of Fashion and Textiles

1982 CLIFTON T. SPARKS, Ph.D., Professor of Counselor Education and Personnel Services; Dean of the College of Education

1981 JOHN W. McFARLAND, Ed.D., Professor of Counselor Education and Personnel Services

1980 AILEENE LOCKHART, D.Sc., Ph.D., Piper Professor of Dance and Professor of Physical Education

1979 A. ELIZABETH TAYLOR, Ph.D., Piper Professor of History and Government

1978 ETHELYN DAVIS, Ph.D., Professor and Chair of the Department of Sociology and Social Work