Graduate School


Dean: Carolyn Kapinus, Ph.D.
Associate Dean: Ruth A. Johnson, Ph.D.
Location: ACT 220
Phone: 940-898-3415

Graduate instruction has been offered by Texas Woman’s University since 1930, when the increased demand for advanced studies resulted in the development of a graduate program and establishment of the Graduate School. Since 1952, the Graduate School has operated as a unit under its own Dean and Graduate Council. Under provisions of Title IX of the Education Amendments in 1972, qualified men became eligible for admission to all programs offered at the graduate level on the same basis as qualified women.

The purposes of the Graduate School are to provide instruction and facilities for advanced study and research in the schools and colleges and to offer the graduate degrees listed below.

College of Arts and Sciences

  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Specialist in School Psychology
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Fine Arts
  • Master of Music
  • Master of Music Therapy
  • Master of Science
  • Master of Social Work
  • Professional Science Masters in Biotechnology

College of Business

  • Master of Accountancy
  • Master of Business Administration
  • Master of Health Systems Management
  • Master of Healthcare Administration

College of Professional Education

  • Doctor of Education
  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Arts in Teaching
  • Master of Education
  • Master of Library Science
  • Master of Science

Institute of Health Sciences

College of Health Sciences

  • Doctor of Education
  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Doctor of Physical Therapy
  • Doctor of Occupational Therapy
  • Master of Arts
  • Master of Science

College of Nursing

  • Doctor of Philosophy
  • Doctor of Nursing Practice
  • Master of Science in Nursing

Administration of the Graduate School

The Graduate School of the Texas Woman’s University is administered by the Dean of the Graduate School in accordance with policies established by the Graduate Council, as authorized by the Board of Regents.